Teacher of the year announced

The Teacher of the Year induction has once again come to pass. Announced last Wednesday, the teacher of the 2010-2011 school year is Mr. Scott Thorpe. The three finalists were Mr. Thorpe, Mr. David Range and Mrs. Erin Thurston.

The way the process works is as follows: a teacher decides that one of his or her colleagues is worthy of the “TOY Award.” Then, he or she has a student who agrees sign the nomination. Then, the list of nominated teachers is narrowed down to the top three by the administration. Once they are announced, the teachers vote.

Mr. Thorpe is an Honors Physical Science teacher. He has been teaching at Francis Howell Central for more than five years.

“It’s an honor and a privilege that my peers think that I am worthy of that award. I know there are many other deserving teachers. It seems like every year, there are teachers who deserve it who aren’t even nominated,” said Mr. Thorpe.